UK Capital Gains Tax Calculation

Can sharesight develop a UK CGT annual report for tax submission purposes (i.e. a report which follows UK HMRC tax reporting requirements)???

Hello Sharesight community. I can see there are a few posts here and there that touch on this topic, so apologies for bringing this back up, but it would be good to hear Sharesights current position on this. Firstly, I am very new to Sharesight after joining up a couple of weeks ago. I was mainly looking for a platform to allow me to pull together all my share purchasing and dividend history to make it easier for compiling for tax reporting. Overall I am very happy with Sharesight and the performance features are very helpful, but I didn’t exactly get what i was looking for on the UK Capital Gains Tax reporting. From what I can see I would likely still need to share this with an accountant for them to figure out the CGT side. There was a mention in another post to look at using the sold security report to figure this out, but as I understand it, this will not take account of uk CGT bed and breakfasting rules. As all of the required raw data (share purchases/disposals, cost/selling price and dates) are logged in this system, I would imagine it should be quite straight forward for Sharesight to create a report format to do this for us. Is there any discussion on this from Sharesight. After all this was what i really wanted to get from this platform.

I had been using Yahoo Finance which I agree is much poorer than Sharesight, but it is free and can give a reasonable view on portfolio performance. I am happy with Sharesight at the moment, but to keep my business for years to come, I would like to see a report I can actually use directly for reporting CGT.

I would love to hear the thoughts of other UK residents who likely know a lot more about this than me.

5 Likes