CAN/USD bulk conversion and Application required conversion rate on every transaction

Hello,

I am new to this application. I have performed a few searches to try to address what I feel is an issue and have not found an answer.

I convert CAN to USD to make a trade. Say I convert 65,000 to 50,000 USD. I then buy stock and the application asks me to enter a conversion rate. Fair enough, and I enjoy that it tracks the conversion cost and factors it into profit/loss.

Later I sell US stock, it forces me to enter a conversion rate. I then buy more US stock from the unconverted funds and I am forces to enter a conversion rate. No additional conversions happened. The application requires me to enter a conversion rate which is incorrectly inflating or deflating earning.

Is there a way around this?

Hi @ryanacole welcome to the community! :tada:

For tax reporting purposes, after each sale, there must be a currency conversion back to the base currency of the portfolio. There are a couple of workarounds you can use:

Workaround 1; is to have your US shares in their own portfolio and your Canadian shares in their own portfolio. Here, this will remove any currency conversions.

Workaround 2; is to just set the FX rate to 1 on trades unless you take the cash completely out of the brokerage.

Hello Jack,

Thank you for your welcome and your response. I used suggestion #2 but it seems to create a false positive because the exchange rate I input into the program is compared to the actual exchange rate and, given today’s current currency exchange values, my currency gain goes through the roof.

I am new to this program, and Semi new to trading. I have to consider, perhaps the problem is me? Is what I am thinking/asking sound wrong to you?