# Trades in existing holdings saved as new holding

**URL:** <https://community.sharesight.com/t/trades-in-existing-holdings-saved-as-new-holding/1017>\
**Category:** Managing trading & investments\
**Created:** [19 July 2022 08:44 UTC](https://community.sharesight.com/t/trades-in-existing-holdings-saved-as-new-holding/1017 "2022-07-19T08:44:03Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 1\
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![nielbekker](https://sea2.discourse-cdn.com/sharesight/user_avatar/community.sharesight.com/nielbekker/32/558_2.png) [@nielbekker](https://community.sharesight.com/u/nielbekker)\
**Post date:** [19 July 2022 08:44 UTC](https://community.sharesight.com/t/trades-in-existing-holdings-saved-as-new-holding/1017/1 "2022-07-19T08:44:03Z")

</div>

![Screenshot_2022_07_19__10_42](https://global.discourse-cdn.com/sharesight/original/1X/4f1ff04c98dcf9067bdb7ae27bc4391e6f37cf85.jpeg)

Whenever my trades get imported from Interactive Brokers, it will often create a new holding instead of adding to an existing position. Usually this is because the purchase has been attributed to a different exchange (or just incorrectly tagged, for example “BATS” instead of “NYSE”).

Is there a better way to consolidate into one holding, or do I have to manually add the trade into the existing holding, and then delete the new/imported one?
